Hon. Mr. Justice Francis C. Muldoon (appointed July 18, 1983)

Hon. Madam Justice Barbara Joan Reed (appointed November 17, 1983)

Hon, Mr. Justice Paul Rouleau (appointed August 5, 1982)

Hon. Mr. Justice Barry Louis Strayer (appointed July 18, 1983)

Hon. Mr. Justice George A. Addy (appointed September 17, 1973; became a supernumerary judge as of September 1, 1983)

Hon, Mr. Justice Pierre Denault (appointed June 29, 1984)

Hon, Mr. Justice L. Marcel Joyal (appointed June 29, 1984)

Hon. Mr. Justice Yvon Pinard (appointed June 29, 1984)

Hon. Mr. Justice Bud Cullen (appointed July 26, 1984)

Hon. Mr. Justice Leonard A. Martin (appointed October 29, 1985)

Hon. Mr. Justice Max M. Tietelbaum (appointed October 29, 1985).

20.2.4 Provincial judiciary

Certain provisions of the constitution govern to some extent the provincial judiciary. Under Section 92(14) the legislature of each province exclusively may make laws in relation to the administration of justice in the province including the constitution, maintenance and organization of provincial courts of both civil and criminal jurisdiction. Section 96 provides that the Governor General shall appoint the judges of the superior, district and county courts in each province, except those of the courts of probate in Nova Scotia and New Brunswick.

20.2.5 Territorial judiciary

In 1971 amendments now cited as RSC 1970, c.48 (1st supplement) to the Yukon Act and the Northwest Territories Act were proclaimed in force, simultaneously with certain ordinances of Yukon and Northwest Territories, allowing the territorial governments to assume responsibility for the administration of justice other than the conduct of criminal prosecutions.

Yukon created a court of appeal, a supreme court and a territorial court through territorial legislation in 1971. The court of appeal, as established by the Court of Appeal Act (RSYT 1971, c.C-20) consists of the resident justice of Yukon, plus a resident justice of Northwest Territories, the chief justice of British Columbia and nine judges of the court of appeal of British Columbia. The court sits primarily in Vancouver, but also has sittings in Whitehorse. The

supreme court, according to the Supreme Court Act (RSYT 1971, c.T-2) consists of the resident justice of Yukon, a resident justice of Northwest Territories, and when required, three judges from British Columbia and Alberta. It sits primarily in Whitehorse. The territorial court, as enabled by the Territorial Court Act (RSYT 1971, c.M-1), has two full-time judges and a pool of deputy judges on call, all appointed by the territorial commissioner. There are also 45 justices of the peace serving in 13 widely scattered circuit locations.

Northwest Territories has a court system consisting of a court of appeal, a supreme court and a territorial court. The court of appeal consists of the resident justice of Northwest Territories, the resident justice of Yukon, the chief justice of Alberta and 12 judges of the court of appeal of Alberta. It sits annually in Yellowknife and in Edmonton and Calgary, as required. The supreme court is presided over by two resident justices of Northwest Territories, the resident justice of Yukon, and when required, eight federally appointed judges from Alberta, plus three from Quebec and two from Ontario. It sits permanently in Yellowknife and goes on circuit to various locations as required. The territorial court consists of four territorially appointed judges; three sit permanently in Yellowknife and one in Hay River, as well as travelling on circuit. There are about 111 justices of the peace serving in various communities.

20.2.6 Canadian Judicial Council

The Canadian Judicial Council, as established under amendments to the Judges Act, consists of the Chief Justice of Canada and the chief justices and associate chief justices of superior courts. The council's purpose is to promote efficiency and uniformity, and to improve the quality of judicial service in superior and county courts. It is assisted in these tasks by a county court committee composed of senior county court judges of the jurisdictions.

The council organizes conferences and educational seminars for federally appointed judges, acts as a focal point for discussion of issues of interest to the judiciary, and conducts investigations of allegations or complaints made in respect of a federally appointed judge.

20.2.7 Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs

The Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs, under the Minister of Justice, is responsible for administrative matters pertaining to the Canadian